Let’s call the Doctor

Posted: December 13, 2012 in This & That

I was determined to make a TARDIS. I’ve been planning it for years and I’ve been procrastinating now for weeks but, as with lots of things, I do eventually get on with it and here’s what I made. Ta-dah!

When I was starting hubby said to me that ‘that looks weird’. I was a bit annoyed because I only just started and had done nothing more than rolled out the dough, but he then continued to say ‘it’s weird to see you in the kitchen. Baking’. Oh, I’m sure. Baking it’s not something I do often, but if it’s interesting enough, I’ll do it!

It was a tad awkward to get the inside bigger than the outside but with generous helpings of the icing I think I managed it.

I did cut corners a little and used ready-made dough. Without thinking I only bought one packet at first. I guess I assumed the dough for the TARDIS came in a TARDIS packet that was also bigger on the inside and the dough would never run out. Doh. It did run out. Too soon. I had to go out and buy more and then I had way too much. More about that later… But hey, made the lights and all.

The Doctor seemed to have regenerated into a gingerbread man. Oh dear. It looks like bow ties are still cool though.

The 12th Doctor. Commissioned by the BBC. I wish.

Well, as with lots of things I do, they often get out of hand. So did this. So I made Daleks.

Exterminate. Exterminate.

The Daleks are fully equipped: Grabber arm, manipulator arm and the eyestalk.

You don’t want to mess with these!

I had to reinvent gravity to get the various arms to stay up.

“Real Daleks don’t climb stairs; they level the building.”

Exterminate. Exterminate.

Looks like the Doctor is surrounded.

He’s in a bit of a pickle, but probably not for long. Oh no, I should have made a sonic screw driver, too. Doh.

Comments
  1. marion says:

    It must be the long winter days that set you off :-) love the exhibition was it for anyone in particular or just for fun?

  2. Sari says:

    Hehe, indeed. It’s the polar night madness :/ This was just for fun. The dogs are very interested and they probably think it’s all for them. I was thinking of building a TARDIS from cardboard but somehow gingerbread dough sounded like more fun. More mess anyway.

  3. [...] I was making my TARDIS, first I ran out of dough and once I bought some more, I had too much. I also had too much icing [...]

  4. billiescraftroom says:

    Fantastic! Off to Tweet this right now!

Leave a Reply

