Tarn good yarn

Posted: February 24, 2011 in Knitting & crochet

I’m still looking for ways to use up old unwanted clothes. Waste not want not is still the thing here. So, I’ve been cutting up old t-shirts into yarn, or tarn, as it is called. I’ve used other fabrics like this before, but not t-shirts and I find it produces a very nice, stretchy yarn. Here’s a couple of balls, nicely white on white (how arty is that?!).

I wanted to test the yarn first to see what it was like to knit, and I must say it’s very nice. Non-stretchy fabric yarns are easier to crochet but t-shirt yarn is just fine knitted too. So, couple of quick pot holders out of t-shirts.

Then I thought that a little bag might be nice. And it is, although very heavy. I added some paper clay buttons which I painted red with acrylics. I thought the rough, uneven look would go nicely with a ‘rug bag’.

I had no pattern, nor plan for this bag. I just knitted until I ran out of one colour, and then continued with another. To avoid any seams, I knitted the bottom of the bag first, in garter stitch, then picked stitches all around it and continued to knit in the round. When the bag was tall enough, I cast off all stitches expect those for the flap, which was then knitted in garter stitch. The shoulder strap is knitted in garter stitch too.

Comments
  1. Sue says:

    How very clever, I love the bag.
    Sue x

  2. Sari says:

    Thanks Sue. The bag really is very heavy. Imagine when I’ll put my wallet in it. Bound to get really stiff neck 🙂

Leave a Reply

