Here comes the sun

Posted: June 4, 2012 in Stamped cards

On the north side of the Arctic Circle it takes some time for the summer to arrive. This year especially. Last week, on a bitterly cold day, I was in a shop when it all of a sudden started to snow. I looked at the sales woman and said that it doesn’t feel very summery yet. She laughed and said: ‘Well, it’s not time yet. In Lapland summer starts after the Midsummer Fest (end of June)’. She either doesn’t remember that I’ve been to that shop many times and thought I was a passing tourist, or she’s seen me before but knows from my accent that I’m not one of the locals. Either way, it’s clear that I’m being way too impatient. With my almost 6 years of experience of the Lappish summers, I humbly reached back for my warmer coat. The summer will arrive. Probably. Eventually.

And for that, let’s have a sun, with its warm shades of yellow, orange and red. It may not have given us much warmth up here yet, but it sure is around a lot. A week ago we had the last sunset until the 14th July. It’s light now all the time and midnight looks just the same as midday. No more star gazing for a bit.

Comments
  1. Marion says:

    Hi Sari, we too are having a late summer, despite having the sun, we also have a cold northerly wind, would love the midnight sun!!
    Marion xx

  2. Sari says:

    Hi Marion, it seems that the weather is crazy all over the place. The only problem with the midnight sun is that I have to really force myself to go to bed – otherwise I could be up all night, every night. It’s difficult to go to bed when it feels like daytime 🙂

Leave a Reply

