Dead people’s buttons

Posted: August 24, 2012 in Sewing, This & That

During my recent visit to England my mother-in-law took out several shoe boxes full of buttons and other sewing stuff. She knows I’ll always find uses for buttons and such and she told me to pick out anything I liked. I could have easily just taken all  of the boxes, and she would have let me I’m sure, but modest as I am, I selected a good bag-full only. Apparently, they are all dead people’s buttons!

When I eventually stop looking at them, sorting them by colour and arranging them from one glass jar to another, I’m sure I’ll use some of them.

Comments
  1. rthepotter says:

    I have a tin full of old buttons too, and some of them belong to people who are dead. They are ridiculously evocative of their former owners. I don’t think I will ever be able to use them – it would have to be for something very special.

  2. Sari says:

    My MIL said to me that I can take whatever I want – she’ll never use them anyway. I only just realised that maybe she won’t use them because they are so evocative. I don’t know whose buttons they were and I probably don’t know those people either and therefore I will find no reasons not to use mine. If I’ll get a finger out and actually make something, that is.

Leave a Reply

