Master of the tardis

Posted: September 10, 2012 in Sewing

What’s this? A tardis? No, it’s a film scanner. For a while now hubby has asked me to make a dust cover for it but I didn’t have a suitable fabric for it. I was going to buy some waxed fabric but I accidentally found some unused promotional bags in the cupboard as I was tidying them – I didn’t even know I had them. The fabric probably has a name, too, but I don’t know what it is. It’s almost like paper but I assume it’s rather tough as it’s used to make bags, too. It’s also very soft. I undid the bag and cut the pieces according to the measurements I’d taken. It was an easy-peasy job to sew it and to my surprise the cover is a very good fit (the tardis is not a straightforward box but it’s slightly curved and the front is higher than the back). Hubby is well-pleased and I’m grinning because, without even trying, I managed to get a word ‘master’ on the back and side of the cover. I also put a cool handle on the top.

While I’ve been tidying the cupboards and shelves I’ve found all sorts of things I’ve lost previously. I used to be very organized and I always knew exactly where everything was. I’m not sure what happened but I keep losing all sorts of stuff all the time now. For the past couple of weeks I’ve been desperately trying to find an enlarger I’d lost. Yes, a big photographic enlarger. How does one lose an enlarger? Apparently, that’s not even difficult! I’ve relocated it now after pulling my hair out for about two weeks and turning the house and a couple of sheds upside down. I should probably place a note round my neck with an address on it, should I ever lose myself.

Leave a Reply

