Magnetic bookmarks

Posted: February 2, 2013 in This & That
Tags: , ,

I’m a bit of a retro kind of person in the sense that I still read actual books as opposed to electronic ones. I have a feeling that all crafters like making bookmarks because they are quick and simple to make and so small that leftovers can often be used. As I got my hands on some thin, self-adhesive magnet I knew that I would have to make bookmarks.

These are all made with leftover pieces of card. A piece of magnet is glued on the inside of a folded piece of card. Then another piece of magnet is placed on top of the first magnet, the protective paper peeled off and the card is folded over. Voila, perfectly aligned magnets. I decorated the other sides with washi tapes, stamps and other bits and pieces. I even made one bookmark out of a film box. Now how retro is that?!

This book, if you’re wondering, is Moominpappa at Sea, in Finnish. One is never too old to read about the Moomins!

Comments
  1. rthepotter says:

    Moomins ditto! In fact I need a new set, as the old ones are shredded with much reading. The hardback you have looks like a good idea.

  2. tita buds says:

    Very creative! I especially like the Fujichrome box tab. 🙂

Leave a Reply

