Spring came and went

Posted: May 4, 2013 in Doggies, Photography
Tags: , ,

Remember this picture (in this post), taken on 11th January this year, when the Sun came high enough to be seen for the first time this year? The day was then just 3 hours long.

DSCN8310a

Same place yesterday, 3rd May, almost 4 months later. The day is now 18h 15min long. Less than a month to go now and the Sun will not set anymore.

The river is still frozen but only just. It would be very stupid to go on it.

River Ounasjoki, Kittilä, Lapland, Finland

Same day by a different river and it looks a lot more like spring. This one is overflowing a bit but not exactly flooding. I was out for the first time wearing a thinner coat, no hat and no gloves and it felt quite warm. Spring is definitely here. Or so I thought…

River Vaalajoki, Lapland, Finland

Here is my boy this morning, confused and wondering whatever happened to spring. There is a saying that the Finnish summer is short but with little snow. The spring is somewhat different.

2013-05-04-oskar

On a more personal note, I saw two elks yesterday! Erm, so what?, I hear you thinking. Well, I’ve lived up here for almost 7 years now and I’ve never seen an elk here. In the south where I grew up I practically and quite literally bumped into them all the time. All the time. It made me smile to see them yesterday – it felt almost like an achievement of sorts. Sadly, no pictures of the elks. We drove past them while there were eating on a field. To make up for it, here are some reindeer.

reindeer2

Leave a Reply

