Don’t know about the future but my jumper is very orange indeed

Posted: May 7, 2013 in Knitting & crochet, Sewing
Tags: , ,

I make stuff all the time but the bottleneck is with taking pictures of the stuff and also getting the pictures here. It is typical that now as the spring is just about here, I display woolens. I guess it doesn’t really matter.

The first item is an orange jumper. The yarn is called Teddy and it’s by a Finnish company Novita. It’s quite thick but with only 45% wool it’s not the warmest of jumpers. Now that I live this far north I’ve started to really notice the difference between wool and man-made fibers. I suppose the bright colour makes up what it lacks in warmth. That’s the theory. It’s a basic jumper with no extra pipes and whistles.

The black corduroy skirt used to be pants. The pants were fine except that below the knee where the fabric creases the corduroy had come off and the pants started to look very worn. I cut the legs off, opened the middle seam and sewed an triangle piece underneath. Easy. This must be the easiest way to make a skirt from old trousers. This corduroy fabric is slightly stretchy, making the trousers first, and now the skirt, very comfortable.

Comments
  1. […] My sister sends me old jeans sometimes when she finds nice ones in a flea market. This is one of those. They are nicely embroidered teenage girl’s jeans. I knew immediately that I wanted to make a bag out of them but I had a problem because the jeans had such big embroidered images on both sides and I didn’t want to cut in the middle of them. After a long think I decided to make a big tote bag. I made the bag the same way as I made my skirt. […]

  2. billiescraftroom says:

    Superb jumper and I love your boots! I used to have Doc Martins in all kinda colours my faves were purple ones but the red ones and blue ones were good too. Never did quite get bold enough to wear odd coloured boots, you know red on the right and blue on the left but thought about it hehe.

    I’ve just found a link on YT for how to pin through clothes you love so you can make a pattern from you favorite clothes. I have some PJ trousers that I’m going to do that to.

    All the best and apologies for the neglect this year.

    Billie

    • Sari says:

      Thanks Billie! Oh, don’t give me any ideas about wearing different coloured Docs on different feet šŸ™‚ I have quite a few pairs of Docs but they are all different. My favourite pair is also purple!!

      I also apologise for not being so active. I’ll try harder this year.

      • billiescraftroom says:

        Hi Sari

        Good to hear from you. Happy New Year.

        I loved my old docs but after my purple ones made holes in my heels they were less loved!!

        I must be getting old, they are too heavy for me now and I had to donate the blue and also red ones to charity. That hurt! I keep seeing people wearing docs and think, Oh those were the days.

        Do you also go for wacky colour laces in them too. I used to search out all kinds of colours of laces.

  3. Sari says:

    I’ve only used the laces that come with the boots. Most come with the black and yellow and so far I’ve only used the black ones. Partly due laziness, I guess. It’s surely only a matter of time when I change to the yellow ones šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

