Jeans for a tote bag

Posted: May 11, 2013 in Sewing
Tags: , ,

My sister sends me old jeans sometimes when she finds nice ones in a flea market. This is one of those. They are nicely embroidered teenage girl’s jeans. I knew immediately that I wanted to make a bag out of them but I had a problem because the jeans had such big embroidered images on both sides and I didn’t want to cut in the middle of them. After a long think I decided to make a big tote bag. I made the bag the same way as I made my skirt.

This is the front of the bag. The bird goes all the way to the bottom of the bag.

There is a big bird at the back of the bag, too. The back pockets have actually been embroidered shut. As you can see, the bag is about as big as it can be. Any bigger and it would touch the ground.

The lining is an old shirt. It, too, had embroidery on the chest which I left. I thought the red goes well with all the other red details. There is a little inside pocket on the other side.

All in all, I’m quite pleased with the bag.

Leave a Reply

