Stuff that glow in the dark

Posted: June 7, 2013 in Photography
Tags: , ,

Things change fast in these parts. Just a few days ago there were no mosquitoes around. Yesterday as I went out to make some pictures in the woods, I was almost eaten alive. I wanted to get a picture in the woods in the evening sun while the leaves and shrubs are still new. I love the colours at this time of year. After a long time of having nothing but white and blue, all of a sudden everything is green, and not just your average leaf green but *GREEN*! I’m talking about nuclear waste, glow-in-the-dark, pain-on-your-frontal-lobe kind of green. I’m not 100% sure about the glow-in-the-dark bit though since it doesn’t get dark here so I can’t make sure, but I’m pretty certain it does happen. There is no time to be wasted as all the leaves and shrubs will get darker in colour all the time. All I could do was to offer myself as mosquito fodder and carry on. As if by miracle, I managed to get some pictures without millions of mosquitoes in front of the lens. Do you know what’s the most ironic part of all this? I’m allergic to mosquitoes! I’ll be itchy and scratchy for weeks now. However, if there’s a picture to be made, I’ll put up with anything. That’s dedication, people.

Pine forest, Sodankylä, Lapland

Leave a Reply

