Chilling

Posted: April 29, 2014 in Photography
Tags: , ,

I’ve been meaning to write an update on all things Arctic, but somehow that hasn’t happened. I do have some pictures I need to edit and then I’ll have my rant. Yes, a rant – that’s how crappy the whole of the winter has been. But here’s a quick update on what’s going on at the moment. It’s 29th April and spring was nicely on its way. There was still some snow left here but it was mostly in ditches and forests. Roads and gardens were just about snow-free. Until this morning, that is. This is the scene I was greeted by this morning. It’s what we call ‘takatalvi’, which translates as ‘back winter’. It’s what happens when spring is already here and then winter comes back with a vengeance.

Luckily we still have the winter tyres on the car. Funnily enough though, I’ve just booked the car in for next week to have the summer tyres put on. Let’s hope this stuff shifts by then.

The dogs are completely indifferent about this. They don’t care. Both of them did a nice pose for the camera, but the phone camera I was using has a really long lag time and by the time it takes the picture, the dog is already doing its thing, ie sniffing away somewhere else.

It’s the Labour Day celebrations this week. People usually do picnics and get rat-arsed and as I was shopping today and saw an Australian wine called ‘Chill out’, I thought ‘why not indeed?’  I’ll not bother with the picnic though. I’ll just ‘chill’ and ‘rat-arse’ instead, like a good Finn.

An update on ‘the Arctic winter that never was’ to follow shortly.

PS. These pictures were taken this morning. It’s been snowing non-stop ever since so the landscape is totally different this evening as I’m writing this, and it’s supposed to carry on snowing till midnight. It never rains but it pours, as they say, and since it’s the Arctic after all, it sleets and snows instead.

Comments
  1. Marion says:

    Oh dear, no wonder you are chillin and rat arsing :o) Mind you we have had snow in June before!
    The spring has arrived here in Northern Ireland despite an slight chill breeze from the east, lovely evenings light till after 9.30pm, bluebells, wild garlic, daffoldils and tulips all up, my favourite time of year

    • Sari says:

      Two days later and pretty much all that snow is still here!! I don’t believe it! I envy you for all the plants and nice evenings. It was just starting to get slightly green here on the lawn before the snow came. Weird thing though, with all this snow now, is the light. It’s relatively light till about midnight and then it starts to get lighter again and that’s really weird because snow usually means darkness. This year is so screwed up 🙂

Leave a Reply

