It’s almost full

Posted: January 4, 2016 in Photography, This & That
Tags: , , , , ,

Happy New Year! I hope you all had a nice Christmas time. I can’t believe how quickly the year 2015 came and went. They do say that time seems to run faster the older you get, but this is ridiculous! I mean, last year only seem to have lasted about half a year, 7 months tops. I hope this doesn’t mean I’m getting old! Surely not!!

Anyway, we are heading towards spring now! Before that, however, we here in the Arctic are waiting for a cold front from Moscow. It’s -21C at the moment and by midweek it should be another 20 degrees colder. Did you see the full moon at Christmas? I didn’t because it was cloudy but I did take a picture two days earlier:

Almost full

I’ve never really thought about it but apparently this was very rare: the last time there was a full moon on Christmas Day was 1977. 2015 and 1977, not only saw the full moon, but also Star Wars. Is that a coincident?

The second picture was taken at the same time. It’s the moment before dark, apply called the Blue Moment. It was very misty on the other side of that hill. I was just coming from there. I was planning on taking pictures of the Christmas lights but it was too misty, so I didn’t. Back on the other side of the hill, on the side where I live, it was completely clear. Cold though, -24C at the time. A day later, 0C. It’s been a roller coaster.

Clear here, misty there

Almost every Christmas time I make at least one new candle holder. This time I recycled some empty glass jars. I cut out some pages from an old book, cut out an image in the middle and decoupaged the page onto the jar. Then I just tied some baker’s twine to the top. The holders look rather nice in the dark.

 

Comments
  1. Marion says:

    Happy New Year Sari, you are right, the years are flying past at a rate of knots. I love the photos, what a beautiful place you live. We spent Christmas in Manchester, it was unseasonably mild at around 12 degrees most days, hence the heavy rain fall and flooding. We should have gone over to North Yorkshire to stay at my sisters for New Year, but her house was cut off by flooding around Boroughbridge although her house was safe. We came home early to more rain and it’s still raining a week on.
    Love the candle holders, I’m making Irish Linen and Donegal Tweed gifts at present, mainly cushions and bags which I sell through a variety of shops. Keeps me out of trouble….for now!
    Marion

    • Sari says:

      Hi Marion, it’s so nice to hear from you. The weather seems to be nuts everywhere these days. I’ve been looking at pictures in the news from all those flooded areas in the north of England and I can’t believe my eyes. Most of those places I know and still consider my (second) home. It’s absolutely devastating. I’m glad your sister’s house is ok. My relatives’ properties are also ok but there have been some close calls. The most awful thing is that some houses have been flooded not just once but several times. Something is going badly wrong.
      I know what you mean about keeping out of trouble. I’m also thinking of cushions. I have some old jumpers which I thought would make nice cushions.
      Happy New Year to you and your family, Marion!

Leave a Reply

